Upon a Burning Throne – Book Review

Author: Ashok Banker

Part of a Series: Yes, Book#1 of the Burnt Empire Saga

Publishers: Simon & Schuster India

Source: Review copy provided by the Publishers as part of the blog tour

Synopsis
In Image result for upon a burning throne reviewa world where demigods and demons walk among mortals, the Emperor of the vast Burnt Empire has died, leaving a turbulent realm without an emperor. Two young princes, Adri and Shvate, are in line to rule, but birthright does not guarantee inheritance: For any successor must sit upon the legendary Burning Throne and pass The Test of Fire. Imbued with dark sorceries, the throne is a crucible—one that incinerates the unworthy.

Adri and Shvate pass The Test and are declared heirs to the empire… but there is another with a claim to power, another who also survives: a girl from an outlying kingdom. When this girl, whose father is the powerful demonlord Jarsun, is denied her claim by the interim leaders, Jarsun declares war, vowing to tear the Burnt Empire apart—leaving the young princes Adri and Shvate to rule a shattered realm embroiled in rebellion and chaos….
Welcome to the Burnt Empire Saga..

66A90218-C769-41B7-9C55-0090641CF710

This huge book is a retelling of the Epic Mahabaratha and is also pitched as the Indian Game of Thrones.

Let me start by saying, its right in one way with the comparison to GoT – the paperback has 343 pages but can easily be 600+pages of words fit into it. Its huge,  I mean to cover 20 pages it took me an hour!! And the characters – so many names to remember and the world, oh my god!! Incredibly built, for sure but a lot of information dump that it takes a little time to process everything. As this is the first book in the series, the author has taken time to get the reader acquainted with its world and characters. Its both an advantage and a disadvantage.

I should also mention that I haven’t read the original Epic , just bits and pieces from the television drama. I’m not completely aware of the story or the characters so it was a little fun for me to guess which character is who and already figuring out how or what his/her destiny would be. I was initially impressed with Vrath, the mighty Demi-god and Jilana the dowager queen, but then the story started moving around Shvate and Adri, Jilana’s grandsons.

There were disoriented timelapse events that confused me, maybe its just me because I read the book in intervals because of my full-time job.

Despite the heavy world building, slower pace in the beginning,  the book is bound to keep you hooked with its action sequences and that cliffhanger towards the end. With the promise of an even better sequel, the book finishes off in glory!.

A 3.5 stars from me.

a9d463700f136e8be53125e5f00b940528dde0-bktoschool74

P.S I’m a tad late in posting my review, this was supposed to be up by 28th July.

Advertisements

The Exact Opposite of Okay – Blog Tour|Book Review | Giveaway

Author: Laura Steven
Publishers: HarperTeen
Released on : June 11 2019
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Edelweiss E-ARC provided by Publishers

_6h0NgkT.png

Welcome to my stop (well, technically my post should have been up by 9th June, but but…*adulting sucks*) for the FFBC blog tour of The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven. Today I’m going to share how much I enjoyed reading this wonderful book and towards the end of the post you will find a link to the Rafflecopter giveaway (US only).

Synopsis

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave, and necessary read for fans of Louise O’Neill and Jennifer Mathieu.Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend, an aspiring comedian, and a person who believes that milk shakes and Reese’s peanut butter cups are major food groups. But after she’s caught in a compromising position with the son of a politician, it seemslike everyone around her is eager to give her a new label: slut.Izzy is certain that the whole thing will blow over and she can get back to worrying about how she doesn’t reciprocate her best friend Danny’s feelings for her and wondering how she is evergoing to find a way out of their small town. Only it doesn’t.And while she’s used to laughing her way out of any situation, as she finds herself first the center of high school gossip and then in the middle of a national scandal, it’s hard even for her to find humor in the situation.Izzy may be determined not to let anyone else define who she is, but that proves easier said than done when it seems like everyone has something to say about her.

66A90218-C769-41B7-9C55-0090641CF710I was gifted a previous edition of this book by a lovely online friend and right from page one, the book had me hooked. Izzy O’Neill is unabashedly funny throughout the book even when handling not so funny situations.

Izzy O’Neil uses humor as a coping mechanism. She is an aspiring screenwriter, an orphan and is poor. What happens when a completely private part of her life becomes viral and how it turns her life upside down and she becomes the object of ridicule and slut shaming is the rest of the story.

“Oh, you know, I’m all right. It sucks a bit. But you know. Fine.” This is an understatement on a par with “the political landscape in the Middle East is a little tense”, but I’m not in the mood to go into specifics.

The relationship dynamics in this book was absolutely good! Be it the grandma-granddaughter love or the friendship between Ajita and Izzy , it felt so good to read about them. Every girl deserves an Ajita in their life! Not to mention the Drama teacher Mrs Crannon. She is one among the sweetest people in Izzy’s life and I loved how supportive she was. And kudos to the author for not completely bashing out on teachers and for showing the world that the good ones do co-exist.

The book deals with several important topics – blaming girls for everything and having double standards when it comes to slut-shaming and also a lesser talked about topic – revenge porn. (Though I felt that everything happening all of a sudden to Izzy felt a little unrealistic, let’s just forget all about it and look at the bigger picture here) The not-so subtle feministic approach towards the end deserves all the applause !

I did love Izzy but her actions confused me. For instance who doesn’t  password protect their phone, considering it has nude pictures of oneself in it? How can someone be so careless. I’m not judging her like the rest of the people in her town do, but i was genuinely concerned about this. And why didn’t she not make an effort at the very beginning to find the cause of all the miserable things happening in her life ? 🧐

The book reminded me of Awkward, 13 Reasons Why and Simon Vs the Homosapiens. In a good way 🙂

72659DB6-CD84-45D7-8428-DD0EFDD90791I rated the book a 4 out of 5 stars.

Thank you to the amazing people at The Fantastic Flying Book Club and the publishers for giving me this opportunity. Please take your time in going through the schedule for the entire tour and have a look at the blogs taking part in it here.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads |Amazon | Bookdepository

Rafflecopter Giveaway Link (US ONLY)

About the Author

Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. The Exact Opposite of Okay, her YA debut, was published by Egmont in March 2018. The sequel, A Girl Called Shameless, will follow in 2019.As well as mentoring aspiring authors through schemes like Pitch Wars, Laura works for Mslexia, a non-profit organisation supporting women writers. She graduated with Distinction from her MA in Creative Writing in 2017, and her TV pilot Clickbait –a mockumentary about journalists at a viral news agency –was a finalist in British Comedy’s 2016 Sitcom Mission.Laura is represented by Suzie Townsend of New Leaf Literary and Media Inc

If you have read the book, do let me know your thoughts on this.. 

a9d463700f136e8be53125e5f00b940528dde0-bktoschool74[3]