After all this time..

When someone asks you who’s your best friend, we immediately say a name. That’s during school. Same question when asked during college, we hesitate a little. Because we have the best friends from school and college now. It doesn’t get complicated, but the happy circle grows. 

Same question when asked now, when you are married/middle aged/old , brings about so many happy memories. You look back and remember all those precious moments.. every single time spent with friends or moments that strengthened that beautiful bond.

I’ve had my share of best friends coupled with lots n lots of drama too. Best friend from school considers me her no.1 enemy now. Other besties are busy with kids and the rare phone calls and chance meetings keep it alive. 

College.. My four years of engineering was made tolerable because of friends. Especially two of them. To this day, I thank the stars for those two in my life. Hailing from an all girls school, college was the second place which was co-Ed. First one was, of course Std XII tuition where I met B. 😝

These two friends have always been there for me no matter what, without *Conditions applied. I can go on and list the things they’ve done for me, but it will be endless. 

My relationship with B happened and because those two friends were guys, we drifted apart. I’m still in touch with them, but things are not how it used to be. They maintain a safe distance and keep conversations limited because they wouldn’t want to come between B and me. 

So why this flashback.. Today these two idiots had gone back to college and posted pictures. Nothing special about it, you might say. The three of us, are fr different departments. While they had posted pictures of them with a gang in several odd spots of the campus, one picture in particular made me smile. 

They had taken a picture, just the two of them in front of my department. They wanted me to be a part of that moment, is what I kept thinking. And in such a discreet way of letting me know it.  

To others, it’s a normal picture. To me, it was everything! 

 

PC -click on picture for source.  

2 thoughts on “After all this time..

  1. Yes now this is my type post because to me friendship means a lot..
    Here’s high five to friendship.. I think we reach a stage in life where talking everyday or seeing each other is not needed ..

    It’s like me and my best friend who is back in india and me here but when I go back even if we have not talked for months .. and I knock on the door the voice from inside says “mannnnnnnnnnnnn”

Any thoughts??!!

