8 Tamil Movies to watch on a Date..

Weekend..  And u are practically bored to death.. How does a movie date in your couch with your partner sound??  Married or in a relationship, doesn’t matter.. Watching that favorite movie with him/her is pure bliss…. And all those lists out there, are about English movies.. So how about a list for Regional ones? Here’s my suggestion -Tamil movies, that are perfect for the couch date…

1)      Alaipayuthey

Hehehe… I love this movie.. and being a personal favorite, its definitely on the list. I mean, whats not there to love in this movie.. okay, maybe you don’t catch the dialogues unless the volume is kept high 😀 but then, the entire movie is just sooo nice.. The courting, the bickering… The before love and after marriage love beautifully captured like never before. Living in an unfinished house, marking the dates when they fight !! Not to mention AR Rahman’s music… Love Love Love.. !!

2)      Mouna Ragam

I know half the population of TN would love this awesome movie by Mani Ratnam (Again!!)… Especially the Karthik – Revathi bits… You have the dashing, funny, spontaneous Karthik in the  flashback and the calm, quiet and sensible husband ‘Mike’ Mohan in the main part. A classic, I say.

Image

Raja Rani, released in 2013 is eerily similar to this movie, and maybe added to the list as well. And to add, I actually cried watching this movie.. Lol..

arya_nayanthara_raja_rani_movie_release_posters_36bcfdb.jpg (700×1086)

3)      Minnale

Ohhh I love this one as well.. I was a crazy Maddy fan back then.. The five days that he spends with Reema Sen… A very cute romantic comedy.. Harris’ music was a big time hit when the movie was released. If you ignore the boring college scenes with Abbas, the film is pretty good. But I’m not sure guys would love it.. My sis and me were drooling for most part of the movie. 😛

4)      Kadhalan

Please don’t hate me.. But this movie is awesome… My favorite Shankar movie.. Okay this list is soooo full of personal favorites.. 😀  You gotta love the story of a middle class college-going student chairman and the daughter of the State’s Governor. ‘Ennavale’ song is definitely one among the top love songs of that decade. And a National award does not lie…

5)      Kadhaluku Mariyadhai

I was in my third grade when this movie had been released. This my first favorite pic.. And you can see the damn contradiction in my ‘Likes’. It’s this movie and Alaipayuthey . You forget your love for the sake of your parents in the former, while you elope, get married in the latter.. But then this movie is kind of sweet, and I’ve watched the climax over and over.. So alike my case(inter-caste problems being the similarity here), I kinda wish this happens to me too.. the guy’s mother trying to persuade the girl’s mom..  L

Verdict: Go for it, if you love the slow pace – slow courtship, no hanky-panky stuff…

6)      Kanda Naal Mudhal

Director Priya knows the heart of her female fans too well. Prasanna and Laila hate each other since childhood and are destined to meet again, but this time its love as well as hate that boils between them. A neat rom-com, that leaves you in a feel-good state. This was the first movie that B and me watched together, and surprise surprise he loved it…

7)      Kushi & Sachin

These two are mainly based on aadhi kaalathu story (old formula ). Ego clashes between the girl and the guy, finally falling madly in love with each other, and realizing it only at the end of the movie. Especially in railway stations and airports 😛

A similar one would be – SMS Siva Manasula Sakthi.. more comedy than romedy, I should say..

8)      Unnaale Unnaale

How a relationship should be & should not be… You can learn from this movie.. I mean the guys from my class were practically whistling every minute of this movie… The lesson told:  If you are too possessive. Protective and sensitive, u wil end up alone like Sadha in this movie. Try being supportive, fun & practical like Tanishaa, and your boyfriend will adore you…

Should I include Vinnaithaandi varuvaaya??? The movie is good, but then lead pair do not end up together. I actually watch it till the “Park scene” and finish it off.

I tried not to include tragic serious movies here, even though some of them are awesome romantic ones.. Like Roja (the bestttttt), Guna (and almost all Kamal movies), our very own Titanic – Madrasapattinam, Punnagai Mannan, Paruthi Veeran, 3, 7g Rainbow Colony, Kadhal etc. After all, it’s a fun date. Nobody wants a crying girl on their shoulders… So go on… the cheapest date possible!! But unforgettable as well…

Tip for guys: Your girl will definitely love you more if you chose one movie from the above list.

P.S.I can’t believe I have not included any Thala movies *shocking*

P.P.S. Not just the 5th movie in the list.. All these are no hanky-panky, non- SJ Surya type movies (Oh u can ignore Kushi..) You are welcome to like them, hate them, comment on them 😀

8 thoughts on “8 Tamil Movies to watch on a Date..

Any thoughts??!!

