Almost in love with Almost Single

I must share this.. OMG.. I’ve been laughing so loud, that i guess i’m scaring the only other occupant in my bay.. I’m reading this book, ‘Almost Single’ by Advaita Kala, and mannn she is awesummm… I remember the days I’ve laughed this much since my Confessions of Georgia Nicolson phase…

Its the same ol’ same ol’ story – single girl -out in the big city – bordering thirty-enter Mr.Handsome – and its all lovey-dovey from there.. So i’m not going too much into the plot now. But the ‘wickedly irreverant & laugh-out funny’ on the covers do not lie.. No, its not entirely based on love. Actually, the only part I find disappointing was, the rushed up romance.. The entire plot is on Aisha’s funny encounters..

In all fairness, life has not been particularly fair to my mum. First there is me, and then there is my dog. My mother hates dogs, but bowing to familial pressure, she ended up housing one. Julian is a St.Bernard, huge, furry very cute. My mum agreed to keep him with the aim of mating him for puppies. One St.bernard pup can go for as much as twenty-five thousand rupees. Only it turns out that Julian can’t get it up, so there is no way he is going to earn his keep and spawn his own lil cottage industry. Between impotent dog and unmarried daughter, Mamma Bhatia’s social future is sealed.

      If she is not dodging the ‘when is your daughter getting married’ question, its ‘why don’t you mate your dog, he’d have such cute puppies?’. As though this round of questioning isnt enough, in a cruel twist of irony, the dog gets more proposals than i do”

Hahaha… i found it funny.. Aisha is your typical silly-mistakes-prone-Sophie-Kinsella-heroine type..

And here’s another one..

“Here is a break up of the congregation. There are the first time Karva Chauth-ers, you know the ones who have been married for a year or less, and have a streak of vermilion parting their hair to prove it; and ofcourse a doting husband lurking in the background, who keeps the fast with them. Its really cute. Then, there are the single girls. You cant tell them apart in their color coordinated Bollywood-inspired outfits, replete with bangles and makeup. Someone show them a clock!!. Its four in the morning and they will have to take off all that finery in order to nap later. They have the annoyingly giggly enthusiasm of girls below the age of 25. Then, theres us, with the ‘been there, done that, but nothing worked, so might as well turn to religion’ kind of desperate charm. There are also the ‘enthu-aunties’ a little mismatched in appearance bcos their daughters clearly got first bids on the good stuff…. Point to note: only the young hubbies are hanging around at this unearthly hour in the morning.” 

I can’t resist…Just one more…

“I take a surreptitious look at her hand and note the absence of wedding band twinned with a solitaire. This is getting worse. Not only is she desirable, but also available. And Karan seems more than happy to indulge her, laughing at her jokes and inane comments. They are completely into each other. I could lift up my skirt and shout “Look, no underwear!!” and I don’t think he would even look.”

**P.S. I wrote this on Saturday, when i was sitting in office. I’m done with the book now. It was completely fun and hilarious till the last few pages..

***P.P.S. This book came like years back… So I might be a little late in reading it, but I’m happy that i read it finally. If you’re looking for  a fun-to-read, laugh-out-loud book.. this is definitely for you.. And I’m serious on the laugh-out-loud part

2 thoughts on “Almost in love with Almost Single

  1. Hi Sweety, Long time since I visited your blog. There was a small break in my blog reading and writing and then I came back and gave up my reader and started using BlogLines and lost the blogs I used to read! Phew, long excuse!
    But am here 🙂 through a comment of yours in janusramblings. Just read this post and now I want to read Almost Single! But, there is a pile of books in my desk now and I got to resist bringing any more books from the library! Next batch, am going to pick this up!

Any thoughts??!!

